Spring 2022 Sportsmanship Award

The BAYS Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to a boys and a girls team selected by the Sportsmanship Award Committee from a pool of submissions received from members of the BAYS community. Winning teams receive special Sportsmanship Award Winner T shirts and have their team picture posted on the BAYS website in recognition of this honor. 

While BAYS expects all of its members to practice good sportsmanship, we believe examples of outstanding sportsmanship should be recognized and rewarded. During the Spring 2022 season, we received nominations from both referees and opposing coaches that described outstanding sportsmanship by teams.

After reviewing all of the submissions, the Committee selected the following two winners:

1.     Girls 6 4/B:  Franklin United. Coaches:  Eric Feigen and Peter Wiernicki 

From the nomination: “The Franklin coaches managed their team and the game in a positive manner that exemplified great sportsmanship. Time and time again the Franklin Youth Soccer program has proven to be one of the most friendly and sporting opponents {we} have had the privilege to face each season.”

2.     Boys 8 2/D:  Bedford Blazers. Coaches:  Mark Kruger and Mary Gallant

From the nomination: “This team was the opposite. They tried to rally each other, kept their heads up, and worked hard to the end. They were a class act in defeat - to each other, to the other team, and to the referees. Much respect to the coaches and parents who had a part in this!”

The Sportsmanship Committee also recognizes the following three teams for honorable mentions:

1.     Girls 12 2A: Lexington Eclipse. Coaches: Suzanne Crane and Jeff Gordon

2.     Boys 4 4C: JP Dynamo. Coaches: Josh Raisler Cohen and Roman Dvoskin

3.     Boys 8 2C: Milton United. Coaches: T. Atilla Ceranoglu and Ohene Asare

Exhibiting and employing sportsmanship is at the very core of the BAYS philosophy: “...to provide an atmosphere of good sportsmanship to encourage all to compete, learn, and enjoy the game of soccer.”

Congratulations to this year’s winners.  May you continue to be outstanding examples for all of our teams. 

BAYS Sportsmanship Award Committee

Steve Smoller (Chair)
Gesse Faber
Karen Young

To nominate a team for the current season: https://bays.org/content/bays-team-sportsmanship-award-nomination

Franklin United - Girls Grade 6

Bedford Blazers - Boys Grade 8