Presidents' Cup Info


One of the highlights of the BAYS spring soccer season is the BAYS Presidents' Cup Tournament. The tournament is open to all of our Division 3 and Division 4 teams for Grades 5-8. For Grade 5 there is also a competition for Division 1 and Division 2 teams:

Grades 6 & 8 Divisions 3 & 4

Grade 5 Divisions 2, 3, & 4

Grade 5 Boys Division 1 - The top 2 teams in each D1 section automatically qualify for semifinal matches with the winners playing in the Championship game. No additional team registration required.

Grade 5 Girls Division 1 - The top 2 teams in each D1 section automatically qualify for semifinal matches with the winners playing in the Championship game. No additional team registration required.

All Championship games are scheduled for Saturday, June 15, 2024 Wheelock Field, Medfield MA

BAYS gives a Presidents’ Cup award to each Champion's team coach and a special commemorative to all of the players in the finals (Champions and Finalists).

Presidents' Cup Overview:

  • The Cup competition is played in addition to the regular season schedule.
  • Initial pairings are determined by BAYS, with play-in games or byes added to each bracket as needed to round out 16-team or 32-team fields.
  • Based on registration numbers, the BAYS Placement Committee will either create a division 3 bracket and a division 4 bracket or will create two brackets to balance out the level of competitions (i.e. one bracket that includes high and mid division 3 teams and one bracket that consists of low division 3 and division 4 teams. This decision will be based on the number of and strength of teams registered. 
  • The tournament has a single-elimination format.
  • All games are played to a result, including overtime and a penalty shoot out if needed. See rules below.
  • The home team (designated by BAYS) must provide a choice of three dates/times within the playing window to the away team, secure a field, and arrange for a certified referee through its town assignor. The town assignor will adjust the time and date of the PC match from the default to match the time and date agreed upon by the coaches. Any issues requiring assistance should be sent by email to [email protected]. The final championship match is at a central site with BAYS supplied referees.
  • Each round of games must be completed within the time frame established by BAYS.
  • Both coaches should report scores to [email protected] within 24 hours after the match. Include: Club/team name, gender, grade, and playing bracket (e.g. Blue/North) along with the result.
  • Referees are required to submit full game reports. BAYS is responsible for paying referees.

Click here for an overview of the playoff brackets and schedule timeframe:

Presidents' Cup Registration Process:

  • Clubs should determine the interest of their eligible team coaches
    • Confirm with interested coaches about the time commitment
    • Confirm availability of home fields and referees
  • The entry fee is $50 per team. 
  • Club Registrars submit Presidents’ Cup team registrations through the regular BAYS Team Registration process. 
    • No registration is necessary for Grade 5 D1 teams. Qualification is determined by record and is automatic.
    • Club invoices will be generated and sent to Club Treasurers.
  • Team Registration will open for Club Registrars on Monday April 15, 2023 and will close on Monday April 23, 2024 at 12 noon. No late entries accepted.
  • Brackets will be posted by April 26. 


Presidents' Cup Rules:

BAYS rules apply except as noted.

No special tournament rosters and no "guest" players. Teams use their existing BAYS roster.

Each game must be played to a result.

If tied at the end of regulation time, two five-minute overtime periods will be played in full. No "golden goal"; no "sudden death".

If tied at the end of both overtime periods, the game shall be determined by FIFA-style penalties (penalty shoot-out).

The winner of the penalty shoot-out is awarded one(1) goal which is added to the number of goals at the end of the overtime period to determine the winner. 

If, in the referee's sole discretion, there is a lack of sufficient daylight or poor weather or field conditions, the referee may direct the teams to proceed directly to penalty kicks at the conclusion of regular time and omit the overtime periods.

In the event that two teams from the same BAYS section are scheduled to play each other in the tournament, they must play their Presidents' Cup game in addition to their regular schedule. They may not substitute their regularly-scheduled BAYS game for their Presidents' Cup game.

Good sportsmanship is assumed. Stronger teams are expected to do everything possible to keep scores reasonable. Teams progress in the tournament solely based on wins. Goal differential has no impact.